Saturday, November 30, 2013


Pictured from left to right are Treasurer Rebecca Smith, President Donald Levans, Secretary Bill Maddox, Director Ronald Knowles, and Vice President Wayne Driver.  Ronnie Pate was elected as a Director but was not present for the picture.  Servicing the second year as Directors are John Bassett and Dale Robinson – also not pictured.
The Carroll County Veterans Memorial Park Committee met on November 25, 2013 at the Ag-Ed Building for their monthly meeting which including electing new officers.  They will assume the duties of their office on January 1, 2014.  Retiring after many years of service are President Norris Garrett (2003-2013), Secretary to the President Jo Garrett, and Violette Denney (2003-2013).  Denney performed various assignments such as membership chair, writing grants, web and blog creator, and the last eight years as treasurer.  Norris Garrett has been the credentials chairman from the very beginning of the park and he drafted every plaque on the 22 completed Walls of Honor – all 1,056!  His wife Jo typed all of them as well as many letters, and anything else he needed.  The Park developed from red Georgia clay to what we have today under their leadership which the help of many others.  In fact almost everyone in our community contributed in one way or another to making our “Symbol of Appreciation to our Veterans and Troops” what it is today!  Before and after pictures are shown to remind everyone of one more reason to be thankful during this Thanksgiving season. 


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home